CITY OF ORTONVILLE COMMITTEE LIST 2025

ORTONVILLE CITY COUNCIL ORTONVILLE, MN 56278 (320) 839-3428

FAX (320) 839-2319

ELECTED POSITION	NAME	TERM EXPIRES
Mayor	Gene Hausauer 751 Highland Hwy. Ortonville, MN 56278 612-799-2356	January 2029
Council Members	Tom Dorry 98 McCloud Street Ortonville, MN 56278 320-305-1462	January 2027
	William Powell 712 Grace Street W Ortonville, MN 56278 320-839-3862	January 2027
	Ashley Berger 520 Minnesota Street North Ortonville, MN 56278 320-247-2576	January 2027
	Matthew Karels 645 Stephens Ave. Ortonville, MN 56278 605-413-6447	January 2029
	Walter Melton 900 Oak Avenue Ortonville, MN 56278 360-878-0910	January 2029
	Dillon Dwyer 813 Lake Avenue Ortonville, MN. 56278 605-880-7268	January 2029

CITY OF ORTONVILLE APPOINTED CITY OFFICIALS

APPOINTED POSITION NAME

President Pro-Tem Matt Karels

City Attorney Fluegel, Anderson, McLaughlin, Brutlag, Chartered

Prosecuting City Attorney Big Stone County Attorney

City Treasurer Char Grossman

Health Officer Dr. Al Ross

Weed Inspector

Civil Defense Director Scott Huizenga

Tree Inspector

Building Inspector Tim Swanson & Mike Jacobson

Plumbing Inspector Sam Berger

CITY EMPLOYEES - DEPARTMENT MANAGERS

City Clerk/Administrator Char Grossman

Deputy City Clerk Debbie Ellingson

Public Works Foreman Scott Huizenga

Golf Superintendent Jesse Roscoe

Water & Wastewater Lead Sam Berger

CITY OF ORTONVILLE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES

All terms are for two years and all will expire at the first council meeting in 2025.

COMMITTEE NAME	MEMBERS
COMMITTEE MANIE	MEMBERS

Audit and Insurance Committee City Council

Board of Review Ashley Berger
Meets once/year in April Bill Powell
Matt Karels

Budget & Levy Committee Gene Hausauer

Will Melton Matt Karels

Street-Utility Committee Tom Dorry

Ashley Berger Dillon Dwyer

Wage & Personnel Committee City Council

CITY OF ORTONVILLE OTHER COMMITTEE, COMMISSION AND BOARDS

NAME TERM EXPIRES

Airport Committee

2-Year Terms (3 Members) (Set by Ordinance)

Ashley Berger	Jan2028
Tom Dorry (C.C. Rep)	Jan. 2028
Dillon Dwyer	Jan. 2027

Board of Health

2-Year Terms expiring January of even numbered years

Health Officer	Dr. Al Ross	Jan. 2026
Fire Chief	Kirby Athey	Jan. 2027

Border City Tax Credit Commission

2-Year Terms

EDA Members

Telecommunications Committee (Set by Ordinance)

2-Year Terms expiring January of even numbered years (5 members)

Shawnda Johnson	Jan. 2026
John Thomas	Jan. 2026
Matt Karels (C.C. Rep.)	Jan. 2026
Dr. Al Ross	Jan. 2026

Economic Development Authority

6-Year Terms (7 Members)

Gene Hausauer (C. C. Rep)	Jan. 2029
Drew Dohman	Jan. 2029
Matt Karels-(C.C. Rep)	Jan. 2030
Shane Ayres	Jan. 2030
Michelle Bauer	Jan. 2030
Ryan Kehnle	Jan. 2031
Jacob Bohlman	Jan. 2031

Golf Board (Set by Ordinance)

3 Year Terms (5 members-1 must be Members of Women's League)

Jodi Lockwood	Jan. 2026
Val Rausch	Jan. 2028
Gene Hausauer (C.C. Rep.)	Jan. 2028
Bill Vangness	Jan. 2028
Audrey Tobin	Jan. 2028

Health Care Board (Set by Ordinance)

3-Year Terms (7 Members)

Scott Simonitch	Jan. 2026
Gene Hausauer (C.C. Rep.)	Jan. 2026
Tim Holtquist	Jan. 2027
Jane Vangness Frisch	Jan. 2027
Phyllis Barr	Jan. 2028
Will Melton (C.C. Rep.)	Jan. 2028
Jake Dorry	Jan. 2028

Heritage Preservation Commission

3-Year Terms (7 Members) (Set by Ordinance)

Planning Commission Members

Library Board (Set by Ordinance)

3-Year Terms (5 Members)

Dillon Dwyer (C.C. Rep.)	Jan. 2026
Claudia Sellin	Jan. 2027
Jeanette Felton	Jan. 2027
Richard Krogstad	Jan. 2028
Deb Berning	Jan. 2028

City Rep to Pioneerland Regional Library

Dillon Dwyer

Park and Recreation Board (Set by Ordinance)

3-Year Terms (5 Members)

Bryan Boergan	Jan. 2026
Bill Powell (C.C. Rep)	Jan. 2026
Meredith Semel	Jan. 2027
Christine Dwyer	Jan. 2026
Shelby Schoon	Jan. 2026

Planning Commission/Board of Adjustment & Appeal (Set by Ordinance) 3-Year terms (5 Members)

Dillon Dwyer (C. & C.)	Jan. 2026
Tim Swanson	Jan. 2026
Jon Hartman	Jan. 2028
Jake Dorry	Jan. 2027
Bill Powell (C.C. Rep)	Jan. 2027

City Representative to the Big Stone County Facilities Group

Mayor

Star City Commission

Economic Development Authority

Safety Committee

3-Year Terms

Scott Huizenga (Director)	Jan. 2026
Josh Berger	Jan. 2026
Sam Berger	Jan. 2028
Char Grossman	Jan. 2028

2025 Fire Department Officers

Chief	Kirby Athey
Asst. Chief	Tim Thompson
Treasurer	Nick Thymian
Secretary	Nolan Fetters
Training Officer	Jeremy Ohm

Safety Officer Dustin Kindelberger

Fire Department Relief Association Board Trustee

Gene Hausauer

City Rep. to the National Guard Armory Board

Bill Powell

Representative to Missouri River Energy Services (MRES)

Gene Hausauer David McLaughlin (Alternative representative)

Representative to Western Municipal Power Agency (WMMPA)

Gene Hausauer David McLaughlin (Alternative representative)

Representative to Upper MN Valley Regional Development Commission

Filled by Graceville Representative

Yellow Ribbon Committee

Bill Powell